latest news & announcements

HHS Wall of Honor to induct three

The 20th class of the Wall of Honor at Hutchinson High School features a trio of HHS alumni.

The 2019-20 honorees are Francie (Hardin) Ekengren, class of 1975; Garrick Harmon, class of 1988; and Annie McKay class of 1996.

Sponsored by the HHS Alumni Association and Hutchinson High School, the group will be honored during a banquet at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, October 3, in the HHS Career and Technical Education Academy, 800 15th Circle.

Fall sports begin at HHS

With the start of school, pre-season sports activities continue at Hutchinson High School.

The annual preview night for fall sports is combined with the Blue-Gold football scrimmage on Friday, at Gowans Stadium.

During the evening, fall HHS sports teams and their coaches will be introduced. Hutchinson middle school and youth football teams also will have brief scrimmages.

The first dance of the HHS school year will follow for students from 8 to 10 p.m. in the HHS Cafeteria.

All the fall sports begin the week of Sept. 2.

HHS Theatre looking for benefactors

Theater masks

Hutchinson High School is looking for supporters for its theater activities.

The patron program for HHS theatre has four levels – Benefactor at $200, Angel at $100, Gold Star at $80 and Blue Star at $50.

IB parent meeting set

IBO logoHutchinson High School parents who have students in the International Baccalaureate Programme will have a first-of-the-year meeting at 7 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 29, in the Professional Learning Center at HHS.

The meeting is open to parents of prospective IB students as well.

Davis winners announced at convocation

Davis Winners
Davis winners Brian McCandless, Judy Goetz, Glinda Theus, Heather Ramos, Kendall Vogts

The nearly 900 Hutchinson Public Schools staff members formally began the 2019-20 school year with the annual opening convocation Monday, Aug. 12, 2019.

A dozen HHS grads receive IB certificates

IB candidates at graduation
From left to right are Brevin Armstrong, Destanee Brigman-Reed, Lauren Ollenburger, Cynthia Dingman, Lydia Johnson, Mykala Lugafet, Hailey Kisner, Abby Pemberton, Madison Sims, Novalie Rodriguez, Ann Weesner and Magdalena Wenger

Hutchinson High School’s recent graduates in the International Baccalaureate Programme had an extremely successful year with 12 students receiving credentials.

Staff of the year announced

With the 2018-19 school year winding down, three Hutchinson Public Schools staff members have received district honors.

Robin Getting, secretary at Graber Elementary School, has been named Classified Employee of the Year. Laura Benscheidt, health sciences teacher at the Hutchinson Career and Technical Education Academy, and Angela Allen, Reno County Head Start teacher, have been nominated as the district’s entries in the Kansas National Teacher of the Year competition.

All three educators will be honored at the back-to-school convocation in August.

Roehm honored with scholarship in his name

Ronn Roehm with Hawaiian Shirt

A new scholarship was unveiled during Wednesday’s Awards Assembly at Hutchinson High School that will be first given to a member of the Class of 2020.

That new scholarship is the Ronn Roehm Scholarship. Roehm is retiring after 21 years as principal and math teacher at HHS. Friends and colleagues of the educator have begun a scholarship fund in Roehm’s name.