You are here

USD 308 staff begins 2017-18 school year

Elementary Teachers Jean Gaeddert
and Cassie Sturgeon
with Davis' Dr. Ted Hobart

Middle School's Brian Brillhart
with Davis' Ted Hobart

HHS Davis
HHS' Clayton Evans and Amber Carithers
with Davis' Ted Hobart

The nearly 900 Hutchinson Public Schools staff members formally began the 2017-18 school year with the annual opening convocation Monday, Aug. 14, 2017

Several educators were honored during the event. The Davis Foundation made its annual Teachers of the Year Awards. The elementary winners were Jean Gaeddert, Avenue A Elementary School instructional support teacher, and Cassie Sturgeon, Avenue A sixth grade teacher. The middle school winner was Brian Brillhart, HMS-8 English language arts teacher. The high school winners were Amber Carithers, Hutchinson High School English teacher, and Clayton Evans, HCTEA business teacher.

            Each winner receives $4,000. The Davis Foundation has contributed millions of dollars to Hutchinson Public Schools’ staff and students since its first scholarships were awarded to HHS seniors 59 years ago. This is the 35th time the awards have been made to teachers. Since the first awards, Davis has made awards of about $425,000 to USD 308 teachers.

            Other Davis finalists were Amy Foos, Wiley Elementary School fifth grade teacher; Jennifer Ramirez, McCandless special education teacher; Becki Ackley, Hutchinson Middle School – 8 math teacher; Chanin Aumiller, HMS-8 social studies teacher; Trent Bain, Hutchinson Career and Technical Education Academy drafting teacher; and Daryl Koestel, HHS band teacher.

Recognized during the convocation as Classified Employee of the Year was Martin Vieyra, Title I aide at Graber Elementary School. Jesse Ediger, fourth grade teacher at Graber, and Chanin Aumiller, social studies teacher at HMS-8, have been nominated as the district’s entries in the Kansas National Teacher of the Year competition.

Featured speaker during the event will be Billy Riggs, a motivational speaker. The district thanks First National Bank of Hutchinson for sponsoring Riggs’ presentation. The district also thanks Heartland Credit Union for treats provided staff when they returned to their buildings.

Licensed staff began on Thursday (Aug. 10, 2017) with all staff on duty Monday and Tuesday. Students in pre-kindergarten through ninth grade return on Wednesday, Aug. 16. High school sophomores through seniors begin the year on Thursday, Aug. 17.