Davis winners announced at convocation

Davis Winners
Davis winners Brian McCandless, Judy Goetz, Glinda Theus, Heather Ramos, Kendall Vogts

The nearly 900 Hutchinson Public Schools staff members formally began the 2019-20 school year with the annual opening convocation Monday, Aug. 12, 2019.

Several educators were honored during the event. The Davis Foundation made its annual Teachers of the Year Awards. The elementary winners were Heather Ramos, third grade teacher at Lincoln Elementary School, and Glinda Theus, third grade teacher at Hutchinson Magnet School at Allen.

The middle school winner was Kendall Vogts, English language arts teacher at Hutchinson Middle School – 8.

The high school winners were Judy Goetz, English teacher at Hutchinson High School, and Brian McCandless, science teacher at HHS.

Each winner receives $4,000. The Davis Foundation has contributed millions of dollars to Hutchinson Public Schools’ staff and students since its first scholarships were awarded to HHS seniors 61 years ago. This is the 37th time the awards have been made to teachers. Since the first awards, Davis has made awards of more than $450,000 to USD 308 teachers.

            Other Davis finalists were Joyce Smith, Lachelle Spann, Brent Arndt, Zach Burkhart, Tina Johnson and Eric Malaschuk.

            Recognized during the convocation as Classified Employee of the Year was Robin Getting, secretary at Graber Elementary School. Angela Allen, Head Start Teacher, and Laura Benscheidt, health sciences teacher at the Hutchinson Career and Technical Education Academy have been nominated as the district’s entries in the Kansas National Teacher of the Year competition.

During the morning, staff heard from new Superintendent Mike Folks in his inaugural convocation presentation. They also heard from LaDonna Gatlin, a motivational speaker. Gatlin’s appearance was sponsored by First National Bank Hutchinson.

Licensed staff began on Thursday (Aug. 8, 2019) with all staff on duty Monday and Tuesday. Students in pre-kindergarten through ninth grade return on Thursday, Aug. 15. High school sophomores through seniors begin the year on Friday, Aug. 16.